Try this new kernel
here. This kernel will support the Realtek USB dongle you have. Again there is a slight possibility you need to manually enable the interface. But once it's up, you should be able to configure this in the Snakeoil WebApp, and it should work on from there.
If the interface is automatically detected, then no configuration is necessary. Although you'll likely still want to setup a static IP for this NIC.
(17-Apr-2019, 10:14 AM)agent_kith Wrote: [ -> ]Try this new kernel here. This kernel will support the Realtek USB dongle you have. Again there is a slight possibility you need to manually enable the interface. But once it's up, you should be able to configure this in the Snakeoil WebApp, and it should work on from there.
If the interface is automatically detected, then no configuration is necessary. Although you'll likely still want to setup a static IP for this NIC.
Thanks again!! but now no usb ports seem to work
will send diag file
(17-Apr-2019, 10:33 AM)frednork Wrote: [ -> ]Thanks again!! but now no usb ports seem to work
will send diag file
... I officially suck... That'll teach me to multitask between work and support. Leave it with me, and I'll try and do a proper kernel later today after work.
@
frednork . Kernel mark II. Please download the kernel and try again. Double check the SHA1 checksums to verify you're on the latest kernel. tx.
(17-Apr-2019, 03:12 PM)agent_kith Wrote: [ -> ]@frednork . Kernel mark II. Please download the kernel and try again. Double check the SHA1 checksums to verify you're on the latest kernel. tx.
Yay it works!!
Ermm, now to figure out how to connect one to the network and one to my renderer. Do I need to bridge? Isnt this how your setup is/was?
(17-Apr-2019, 07:10 PM)frednork Wrote: [ -> ]Yay it works!!
Noice!
(17-Apr-2019, 07:10 PM)frednork Wrote: [ -> ]Ermm, now to figure out how to connect one to the network and one to my renderer. Do I need to bridge? Isnt this how your setup is/was?
I didn't do bridge as I don't like how it works in Linux. What I did is to setup another IP subnet for the connection... So th controller PC has two network cards, one can talk to my NAS+ Wifi (Subnet A - 192.168.1.0/24), the other talk to the player (subnet B - 192.168.2.0/24).
(17-Apr-2019, 10:28 PM)agent_kith Wrote: [ -> ] (17-Apr-2019, 07:10 PM)frednork Wrote: [ -> ]Yay it works!!
Noice!
(17-Apr-2019, 07:10 PM)frednork Wrote: [ -> ]Ermm, now to figure out how to connect one to the network and one to my renderer. Do I need to bridge? Isnt this how your setup is/was?
I didn't do bridge as I don't like how it works in Linux. What I did is to setup another IP subnet for the connection... So th controller PC has two network cards, one can talk to my NAS+ Wifi (Subnet A - 192.168.1.0/24), the other talk to the player (subnet B - 192.168.2.0/24).
Ok, that sounds good. how do I do that? does that involve editing interfaces file?
(18-Apr-2019, 06:47 AM)frednork Wrote: [ -> ]Ok, that sounds good. how do I do that? does that involve editing interfaces file?
Easiest would be that.
Let me know if you want to try bridging as well, and if so, I'll add the required stuffs into the usbnet kernel, and put something in the Snakeoil WebApp to enable it.
(18-Apr-2019, 08:05 AM)agent_kith Wrote: [ -> ] (18-Apr-2019, 06:47 AM)frednork Wrote: [ -> ]Ok, that sounds good. how do I do that? does that involve editing interfaces file?
Easiest would be that.
Let me know if you want to try bridging as well, and if so, I'll add the required stuffs into the usbnet kernel, and put something in the Snakeoil WebApp to enable it.
Ok, my head is officially spinning, Have been looking for how to setup this and nothing is making much sense
is this close?
Code:
auto eth0 iface
eth0 inet static
address x.y.1.10
netmask 255.255.255.0
network x.y.1.0
broadcast x.y.1.255
gateway x.y.1.1
dns-nameservers x.y.1.1
auto eth1 iface
eth1 inet static
address x.y.2.10
netmask 255.255.255.0
broadcast x.y.2.255
then setup of renderer?